While there is no Florida motorcycle insurance requirement to register your motorcycle for road use, there are Florida motorcycle insurance laws that may require you to provide proof of insurance if you are involved in an accident. Make sure you understand the Florida motorcycle insurance laws and requirements before you register your motorcycle.
WHAT ARE THE FLORIDA MOTORCYCLE INSURANCE LAWS AND REQUIREMENTS?
Florida’s No-Fault, or “PIP Laws” do not apply to motorcycles, “Trikes” or a motorcycle with sidecars. However, the Financial Responsibility FR Law applies to ALL motor vehicles in Florida, including motorcycles. Thus the voluntary purchase of Florida motorcycle insurance by an owner, operator or owner/operator is highly recommended. Failure to carry property damage and bodily injury liability insurance in case of a crash, DUI conviction or other occurrences outlined in Florida’s FR Laws, Ch. 324, may result in some or all of the following: Loss of license/tag and registration, and/or restitution or civil court judgment, and future proof (three years) of high risk, SR22 mandatory liability insurance coverage just to keep your driver license – even if you do not own any motor vehicles.
All persons requesting a Florida motorcycle endorsement:
- Must hold a Class E license or higher or meet the requirements for a Class E license.
- Must complete a motorcycle safety course, BRC or
- Provide an out-of-state license with a motorcycle endorsement (except Alabama).
The following courses meet Florida’s motorcycle rider course requirements for a motorcycle endorsement:
- Certificate of completion from an approved Motorcycle Rider Course, BRC. Check the Florida Motorcycle Handbook for a list.
- Law enforcement officers presenting a certificate of completion from a motorcycle training course sponsored by the Institute of Police Technology and Management.
- A Motorcycle Safety Foundation (MSF) sponsored rider course conducted by any branch of the military service.
Source: Florida Motorcycle Handbook.
IS THERE A FLORIDA MOTORCYCLE INSURANCE LAW THAT REQUIRES ME TO WEAR A HELMET?
Head injuries are reduced by wearing approved motorcycle helmets!
- Anyone under 16 years of age must wear a Department approved motorcycle helmet and may only ride as a passenger on any motorcycle, moped, motor-driven cycle regardless of engine size.
- A person is not required to wear a helmet while operating or riding upon a moped, scooter or other two or three-wheel motor vehicle 50cc or less, if at least 16 years of age.
- Anyone 16 years of age but less than 21 years of age must wear a Department approved helmet when operating or riding upon a motorcycle. Per s. 316.211F.S.
- Persons at least 21 years of age may ride a motorcycle without a helmet if they can show proof of medical insurance coverage in the amounts of at least $10,000.00 that will pay for injuries they may incur in a motorcycle crash. A separate motorcycle medical insurance policy card or other forms of health insurance coverage will suffice, such as employee group or private health insurance cards. Law officers shall make final determination if proof of insurance is acceptable.
- Per s. 316.211(2), a person may not operate a motorcycle as defined in s. 316.003(22), unless the person is wearing one of these Department approved eye-protective devices over his or her eyes; goggles, face shields designed for use with, and as part of an approved helmet or eyeglasses including sunglasses. Contact lenses are not acceptable. Each device must be in good repair, free of sharp edges or projections and made of material suitable for ophthalmic use. It shall be free from cracks, waves, bubbles or any other defect which may impair its normal visibility. Any tinted device should not impair the wearer’s ability to see color and shall not be used at night.
The above Florida motorcycle insurance laws and requirements do not apply to persons riding within an enclosed cab or to persons 16 years of age or older who operate or ride upon motorcycles powered by a motor with a displacement of 50 cubic centimeters or less or rated not in excess of 2 brake horsepower and which are not capable of propelling such motorcycles at speeds greater than 30 miles per hour on level ground. Note: If at anytime however, the 50 cc or less vehicle being operated exceeds any of the above statute limitations, such as having the engine enhanced for more horsepower, then said vehicle no longer meets the exempt definition and the operator is subject to enforcement of the eye-protection device statute.
Source: Florida Motorcycle Handbook.
WHAT COVERAGES ARE AVAILABLE FOR FLORIDA MOTORCYCLE INSURANCE?
- Bodily Injury Liability. This pays the other persons medical bills if you injure another party in an accident.
- Property Damage Liability. If you damage someone else’s vehicle or property with your motorcycle, property damage pays for the repairs.
- Medical payments. If you or a passenger is injured on your motorcycle, the medical payments will respond. Most Florida insurance carriers offer up to $10,000 coverage.
- Uninsured motorist. If you, or a passenger, are injured by someone who does not carry Florida insurance or does not have enough insurance, the uninsured motorist is a life saver. It will pay medical bills, lost wages, even a death benefit.
- Comprehensive coverage. This would pay for damages to your motorcycle that occurred outside of an accident. Theft, windstorm, or vandalism would be examples of this.
- Collision coverage. This pays for damage to your motorcycle that is caused when you have been involved in an accident.
- Towing or labor. This coverage could pay for towing or labor costs due to a mechanical breakdown or an accident.
- Gap coverage. If you owe more on your motorcycle than what it is worth, and your motorcycle is totaled, the gap coverage will make up the difference to your lender.
HOW CAN I SAVE MONEY ON MY FLORIDA MOTORCYCLE INSURANCE?
- Shop around. Let the experts at Statewide Insurance shop the competition for you. We have partnered with many of the top Florida motorcycle insurance companies. GET A QUOTE NOW!
- Age of Driver. Are you 55 or older? If so, you could be eligible for Florida motorcycle insurance discounts by completing an approved accident prevention course. For location information, you may contact AARP at 1-888-687-2277, or the National Safety Council at 1-800-621-7615.
- Retired? If you are no longer working, some Florida motorcycle insurance companies offer a discount.
- Deductible. By raising your deductibles on your Florida motorcycle insurance you can lower your insurance premiums. Just be cautious that you keep your deductibles at a manageable level.
- Safe driver discounts. Many Florida motorcycle insurance companies offer discounts to individuals that have not had any tickets, accidents, or claims in the last 3 years.
- Age of your motorcycle. You can eliminate collision and/or comprehensive coverage on older motorcycles as their value decreases, unless there is a lien in place.
- Most Florida motorcycle insurance companies offer discounts for motorcycle-recovery systems or anti-theft devices.
- Type of motorcycle. Newer, more expensive motorcycles are more costly to repair or replace, and insurance prices reflect this.
- Territory. The garaging location of your motorcycle will make a difference in your insurance premiums. More heavily populated cities or coastal areas of Florida may cost more than inland counties or smaller communities.
- Usage. If your motorcycle is your main mode of transportation, you can expect to pay a little more for your insurance. If it is for pleasure use only the carrier will give a little break.
- Credit history. Your credit history can increase or decrease your premium. The better your credit, the better your rate.