Statewide Insurance offers multiple carriers for your classic and antique vehicle insurance. We offer the top selections to top carriers for our existing auto insurance clients. We do not offer a stand alone classic or antique vehicle policy. Our carriers include Grundy, Progressive, Infinity, Hagerty, Heacock, JC Taylor, and American Collector’s.
The state of Florida only requires a minimum amount of coverage for your classic car insurance. These restored classics deserve better than that. We can help you get great coverage for a surprisingly low annual premium.
WHAT INSURANCE LIMITS AM I REQUIRED TO CARRY?
Below is a list of the Florida state minimum auto insurance requirements, however classic and antique cars are very inexpensive to insure because they generally have very limited usage. While we have listed the minimum coverage requirements here, it is recommended that you consider a more suitable amount of coverage. The cost difference will be minimal.
In Florida, you must carry:
- A minimum of $10,000 of personal injury protection (PIP).
- A minimum of $10,000 of property damage liability.
Personal Injury Protection (PIP)Since Florida is a No-Fault state, this coverage is always the first to pay if you are injured in an accident. The maximum payout is $10,000. PIP pays:
- 80% of your medical bills.
- 60% of your lost wages.
- And up to $5,000 death benefit.
Property Damage Liability
If you cause damage to someone else’s property, this coverage will:
- Cover property such as fencing, telephone poles, building damage, other cars, etc.
Bodily Injury Liability
- Pays the medical expenses of others, that you have injured in an accident. It will pay legal expenses to defend you as well.
- Statewide Insurance and the Insurance Information Institute recommend carrying this coverage.
- It is not required by Florida law unless you are required to carry a financial responsibility filing.
- If you injured someone in an accident, and you do not have bodily injury liability limits of at least $10,000/$20,000, your license could be suspended until you have paid back restitution.
WHAT OTHER COVERAGE IS AVAILABLE ON A FLORIDA CLASSIC CAR INSURANCE POLICY?
- Medical payments. This covers medical expenses for any injury related to you classic car. Generally you can purchase up to $10,000 of coverage.
- Uninsured motorist. With the number of drivers in Florida that do not have insurance, it is a good idea to have this coverage. This pays if you are injured by someone who doesn’t have insurance or doesn’t have enough insurance. It pays medical expenses, lost wages, and death benefit.
- Comprehensive coverage. Pays if your vehicle is damaged outside of an accident. For example, windstorm, vandalism, or theft. This will also cover glass claims. You are not required to pay your deductible in Florida if your front windshield is damaged under a comprehensive claim.
- Collision coverage. This will pay for the damage you sustain in an accident.
- Car rental coverage. If you need a rental car, while your classic is being repaired under a comprehensive or collision claim, this would pay you a certain amount each day.
- Towing and labor. Locked your keys in your car, had a flat tire, or ran out of gas. Most carriers will reimburse you for a tow or the labor costs.
HOW DO I SAVE MONEY ON MY CLASSIC CAR INSURANCE?
- If you want the best price and best coverage for your classic car, the best thing to do is shop around. We represent the top Florida classic car insurance carriers. Grundy, Hagerty, and Infinity. GET A QUOTE NOW!
- Mature Driver. If you are over age 55, you could be eligible for discounts if you have completed an accident safety course. For information, contact AARP at 1-888-687-2277, or the National Safety Council at 1-800-621-7615.
- Retired? If you are retired or do not earn wages, you can exclude certain coverage that pays for lost wages.
- Deductible. Increasing your deductible lowers your premium and lowering your deductible increases it. Consider how much you are willing to pay out of pocket before you would file a claim. Then consider how much this will save you on your premium.
- Good driver discounts. If you have had a clean driving record for the last 3-5 years, this will save you from costly surcharges.
- Type of vehicle. Your premium will be based on the value of your classic car. The more valuable it is, the more you will pay to insure it.
- Territory. The size of the town or city you live in and where you store your classic car will affect your premium. Larger and more heavily populated areas typically mean a higher rate.
- Usage. Most classic car insurance programs limit the mileage you are allowed to drive each year.
- Gender. Male drivers tend to pay a higher rate than female drivers.
- Age. Drivers under the age of 25 or over the age of 65 statistically pay higher premiums.
- Credit history. Good credit means you will get a better rate on your classic car insurance.